Ad Spot

Two Morgan students achieve finalist status for National Merit Scholarship

Two students in Morgan County are National Merit Scholarship finalists.  

Chase Taylor, a senior at Priceville High School, and Russell Haggard, a senior at West Morgan High School, have been named finalists of the scholarship. 

As juniorsTaylor and Haggard participated in the PSAT/NMSQT. Participation in these tests is funded by the school district and thus provided to Morgan County students at no cost.  

According to its website, the mission of National Merit Scholarship Corporation is to recognize and honor the academically talented students of the United States. NMSC accomplishes its mission by conducting nationwide academic scholarship programs.  

The enduring goals of NMSC’s scholarship programs are: 

  • To promote a wider and deeper respect for learning in general and for exceptionally talented individuals in particular 
  • To shine a spotlight on brilliant students and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence at all levels of education 
  • To stimulate increased support from individuals and organizations that wish to sponsor scholarships for outstanding scholastic talent  

Students must also take a National Merit Scholarship qualifying testThe four-hour test comprises four parts: reading, writing, math with a calculator and math without a calculator. 

To participate in the National Merit Scholarship Program, a student must take the PSAT/NMSQT in the specified year of the high school program and no later than the third year in grades nine through 12, regardless of grade classification or educational pattern.