Ad Spot
The Hartselle Lady Tigers celebrate their 2020 Morgan County Tournament Championship following their 50-44 win over Priceville. Photo by James Meadows.

Lady Tigers hold off Priceville to win Morgan County Tournament Championship

FALKVILLE – Hartselle put together a tremendous defensive performance to hold off Priceville to win the Morgan County Tournament Championship 50-44 on Saturday night.

The Lady Tigers were playing without Masyn Marchbanks, who suffered a season-ending shoulder injury on Thursday. Due to the injury, Hailey Holshouser had to move to the point and be the primary ball-handler.

Hartselle (17-10) was led by the play of Lillyanna Cartee and Holshouser. Cartee, who was named the Jane Nelson Fields MVP, finished with 20 points, 14 rebounds, two assists, and a steal. Holshouser added 12 points, four rebounds, two steals, and one assist.

The Lady Tigers’ defense was the difference as they held a potent Priceville offense to just 44 points.

Hartselle, after trailing 16-15 to end the first quarter, held the Lady Bulldogs scoreless for over seven minutes in the second quarter. The Lady Tigers led 27-19 at the half.

Priceville cut the lead to two at 34-32 heading into the fourth quarter. They got to within one at 45-44 with less than two minutes to go. Hartselle’s defense would hold the Lady Bulldogs scoreless the rest of the way to secure the victory.

Carrington Hogan finished with nine points and three rebounds for Hartselle. Kaitlyn Hogan had six points and three rebounds. Maggie McCleskey had three points.

Priceville (15-9) was led by Jenna Walker, who finished with 20 points, three rebounds, seven assists, and two steals. Zoey Benson added six points and four rebounds. Abigail Garrison added three points and seven rebounds.

Olivia Duran had two points and six rebounds with Brianna Marquette adding four points and five rebounds for the Lady Bulldogs. Olivia Gann added six points and Lannah Johnson netted three.


Hartselle: Lillyanna Cartee – MVP, Hailey Holshouser, Masyn Marchbanks

Priceville: Jenna Walker, Abigail Garrison, Zoey Benson

Falkville: Sydnee Fitzgerald, Abby Speegle, Makenzie Veal

Brewer: Jacie Andrews, Hope West, Evaiah Burrows

West Morgan: Annabelle Pace

Danville: Blayne Godfrey, Lauren Hames, Emma Broadfoot


Hartselle travels to Cullman on Tuesday night for a chance to win a share of the 6A Area 14 regular-season title. Priceville goes to West Morgan for a 4A Area 14 match-up. The Lady Bulldogs have already won the area title.