Ad Spot

Council gets more competition

Another candidate has qualified for the Hartselle City Council, leaving Place 1 Councilman Kenny “K.T” Thompson as the only unopposed candidate in the race.

Early Tuesday morning, Richard “Dick” Carter joined the Council Place 4 race and will take on incumbent Tom Chappell.

The already crowded race for Council Place 3 got another candidate on Monday. Mike Roberson became the fourth candidate vying for the position given up by Mark Mizell, who will not seek another term because he is leaving Hartselle’s City Limits. Roberson will take on previously qualified candidates George Hearring, Glenn McGann and Karen Owens.

A.D. Hargrove initially qualified to run for Council Place 3, but City Clerk/Controller Rita Lee said he paid another $50 qualifying fee Thursday to switch to the Council Place 2 race. Hargrove is the first opponent for incumbent Bill Smelser.

Jason Armstrong, Kenneth “Ken” Doss and Franklin Delano Turney are the three candidates vying for Council Place 5.

Current Place 5 Councilman Donald E. “Don” Hall is facing Johnnie J. Howell and Lee E. Hartsell.