If you like his column, you'll love his book

By Staff
Grammer writes book on his experiences growing up in Hartselle and playing for "The Bear."
Nick Johnston, Hartselle Enquirer
It's finally here.
Jim Grammer's new book, "The Long Gravel Road to Bama," has hit shelves at the Book Cellar in Hartselle. Grammer, a columnist for the Hartselle Enquirer, shares stories of growing up with his brother, Richard, and other friends in and around Hartselle.
The book tells about his time at The University of Alabama, and how he handled his brother's, along with other's, deaths.
"A lot of it is about people here in Hartselle and the experiences we had with those people," Grammer said. "Some are good, some are bad. And I hope this book does well and it's something people will enjoy."
In his book, Grammer talks about attending Flint Elementary School, living and working on the farm with his brother and playing little league baseball in Hartselle.
He talks about his high school football days and the guys he played with, like Johnny Newman. He also talks about the recruiting process and how his group in school suffered many tragedies.
"I tell some of the bitter truth," Grammer said. "I give some insight that common guy doesn't have. Like at Alabama, it wasn't all just glory. There were a lot of hard times."
But Grammer hasn't always been as open about his experiences. He has seen a lot of tragedy in his life, and said he wanted to put everything in his past aside.
"I thought, 'What's wrong with me? Why don't I want to reminisce about my life?" he said. "Sure, there were good times, but there were a lot of bad times, too. I just wanted to put all of it aside."
Grammer has been writing columns for nearly a year for the Hartselle Enquirer. He has been working on this book for close to three years.
His books serves another large purpose rather than telling everybody of his experiences, though.
"My first thought was this is something I would like to tell me kids and grandchildren," Grammer said. "If they want to know what their grandfather did, here it is."
His book is on sale at The Book Cellar in Hartselle at a price of $35. Or, send a SASE to "The Long Gravel Road to Bama," 1707 Brookwood Drive, Hartselle, AL, 35640, along with a check for $35.

Eva

Community class reunion celebrates Morgan schools

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hats off: Class of 2024 graduates from Hartselle High School

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

City adjusts garbage routes for Memorial Day

Falkville

Larry Madison has been a pillar in Falkville for four decades

Hartselle

Hartselle trio nominated for two K-LOVE awards

Hartselle

Hartselle students chosen to attend Girls State

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle Kiwanis Club continues scholarly legacy with annual golf tournament

Editor's picks

Heartbreaking finish: Hartselle comes up a run short in state baseball finals

Decatur

Fallen Morgan County officers remembered, families honored  

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle drops Game 1 to Hillcrest, needs two wins for state title

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Despite title loss, Hartselle thankful for state experience 

Editor's picks

Hartselle baseball legend dies

Breaking News

Hartselle baseball legend William Booth dies at 79

At a Glance

ALDOT patching area of Thompson Road tomorrow, Thursday

At a Glance

Spring-time market day in Hartselle scheduled for May 18 

Hartselle

New Crestline Elementary School welcomes students

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle industry closing, affecting more than 150 jobs  

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Habitat for Humanity applications for homeownership available June 3 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

State seeking death penalty for Fort Payne woman accused of pushing victim off cliff

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Pilot of ultralight dies in Hartselle plane crash

Editor's picks

Northern lights visible from north Alabama

Hartselle

Hartselle students to attend Boys State

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

High scorers: 42 Hartselle students a part of ACT 30 plus club

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle projects budget surplus based on midyear numbers 

x