Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey declared a state of emergency for 25 counties in north Alabama, including Morgan, Lawrence and Limestone counties, Sunday afternoon due to severe weather expected over the next three days.

The National Weather Service issued a winter storm warning for all of the Tennessee Valley, with snow expected to begin Sunday night and up to 2½ inches to accumulate by Tuesday morning. The low temperature Tuesday night is expected to be 6 degrees.

The other counties included in the state of emergency are Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Cleburne, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Pickens, St. Clair, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Winston.

“We are anticipating unusually cold temperatures in Alabama this week, so I am urging everyone to be prepared, take caution traveling and stay weather aware,” Ivey said in a statement.