Ad Spot
Pictured from left to right are IMPACT award winners Mary Frances Istede (Hartselle High School, Outstanding Student Leader Award), Aleah Greenhaw (Danville High School, Character Award), Rocky Smith and Micah Cobb (Brewer High School, Servant Leadership Award.)  

Second annual IMPACT program names award winners

Special to the Enquirer  

The second annual IMPACT Student Leadership, a program through the Hartselle Area Chamber of Commerce (HACC), concluded May 18 with a dinner and awards ceremony for students and their families. 

IMPACT is a program designed to promote classroom and community leadership among high school students in Morgan County and is open to all sophomores and juniors in Hartselle City and Morgan County Schools.  

IMPACT was created to grow life-long community leaders in the Hartselle area through mentorship, experiential and peer learning, community networking, service projects, and problem-solving opportunities, according to the HACC. Furthermore, IMPACT was designed to contribute to the development of citizens that are aware of the building blocks of a strong community, who can identify opportunities, understand their individual impact and have the tools to produce change. 

Twenty-one students participated in this year’s program that was sponsored by Maegan Jones of MarMac Real Estate.  

Student groups presented projects and heard a challenge from Leonard Morris, owner of ReDiscover Confidence and Student Pastor at Life Church of Hartselle at the awards dinner.  

This year, the program was led and facilitated by Rocky Smith, Hartselle City Schools Director of Operations.