Ad Spot

Area students participate in IMPACT 2022

Special to the Enquirer

The Hartselle Area Chamber of Commerce in October announced a new student leadership program that will launch in January 2022 and will be presented by Maegan Jones of MarMac Real Estate. The first class of participants has now been selected for IMPACT Student Leadership.

The following students have been chosen to represent their respective high schools in the IMPACT class of 2022: Sarah Bowling, Jackson Boyd, Ashley Bryant, Jake Haynes, Harrison Hope, Jett Johnson, Andrew Suggs, Kate Wilbanks, Tommy Allred, Trinity Coots, Lillie-Kate Eddy, Giselle Gallegos Vergara, Ava Mause, Cooper Naylor, Corey Naylor, Maggie Raper, Alexander Resurreccion, Sallie Terry, Abbey Grace Tomlin, Hilda Veracruz and Alison Wiley.

IMPACT Student Leadership is a program designed to promote classroom and community leadership among high school students in Morgan County. IMPACT is open to all sophomores and juniors in Hartselle City and Morgan County systems.

The program was created to grow life-long community leaders in the Hartselle area through mentorship, experiential and peer learning, community networking, service projects and problem-solving opportunities, according to the HACC.

IMPACT aspires to develop citizens who are aware of the building blocks of a strong community, who can identify opportunities, who understand their individual impact and who have the tools to produce change.

The program will run from January through May and will include monthly modules such as team building, hands-on learning, peer learning, service projects to give back to community and community tours, including a day trip to Montgomery during the legislative session.