Ad Spot

County producers have until Aug. 3 to submit FSA county committee nominations

Special to the Enquirer 

The U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency reminds farmers and ranchers that they have until Aug. 3 to nominate eligible candidates to serve on local FSA county committees. 

Agricultural producers who participate or cooperate in an FSA program, including the current Coronavirus Food Assistance Program, may be nominated for candidacy for the county committee. Individuals may nominate themselves or others as candidates 

Morgan Count FSA executive director BeLinda Woods said each year an election is held in a Local Administrative Area where a committee member’s three-year term is expiring. For 2020, that election will be held in LAA 2, which includes Hartselle, Priceville, Somerville, CotacoValhermoso Springs and Laceys Spring.  

“If you know of a great candidate or want to nominate yourself to serve on your local county committee, contact your FSA office before the deadline to submit the nomination form,” Woods said. I especially encourage the nomination of beginning farmers and ranchers, as well as women and minorities.  

This is your opportunity to have a say in how federal programs are delivered in your county.” 

Nationwide, more than 7,700 members of the agricultural community serve on FSA county committees. The committees are made of three to 11 members and typically meet once a month. 

Members serve three-year terms. Producers serving on FSA county committees play a critical role in the day-to-day operations of the agency.
To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in an agencyadministered program and reside in the LAA where the election is being held. A complete list of eligibility requirements, more information and nomination forms are available at 

To be considered, a producer must sign an FSA-669A nomination form. All nomination forms for the 2020 election must be postmarked or received in the local FSA county office by Aug. 3.  

Ballots will be mailed to eligible voters beginning Nov. 2.