Ad Spot

Board approves principal contracts

Three Hartselle City School principals have new three-year contracts after the HCS Board of Education approved Superintendent Dr. Vic Wilson’s recommendation to renew their contracts.

Susan Hayes at Barkley Bridge, Robin Varwig at Crestline and Jeff Hyche at Hartselle High School now have contracts to serve through June 2018. The recommendation passed on a 3-1 vote.

Board member Venita Jones voted against the contracts because they contained a 3 percent salary increase in the new contract period.

Jones feels that giving principals raises when teachers have not received raises is not a good move.

Wilson explained that contract renewal is the only time to give raises and that Hartselle teachers are the eighth highest paid teachers in the state; also, the 3 percent salary increase is in line with other systems.

Board member Jennifer Sittason added the board would give all teachers a raise if they were able. Board member Monty Vest said she supported the strong leaders and administrators and it is important to recognize the job they are doing. Randy Sparkman added that step raises for teachers helps to retain them in the system. Dr. James Joy was not in attendance for the meeting.

A changing of the guard also took place at the May 19 board meeting. Vice Chairman Randy Sparkman was elected chairman of the Hartselle Board of Education and Venita Jones vice chair.

In other business CFSO Jonathan Craft gave the board his financial report. The board, at the end of seven months of this school year, is at 64.5 percent of expected revenue and 62.1 percent of budget expenses. The general fund has 3.82 months in reserve.

In other action items:

• The Strategic Plan was approved.

• 65 out of district students in K – 11th grade were approved.

• Bus service for the OWO summer program was approved.

• Positions for Director of Teaching and Learning and Coordinator of Professional Development and Curriculum were approved.


Personnel Matters

• Approved resignations from Jamie Roden, Shane Russell, Kenney Lopez, Caleb Graham, Jessica Hargett and Sabrina Buettner.

• Approved leave requests for Leesia Johnson, Kate Dupuis, Christian Brewer, Anna Perrin, Codi Daniels and Elaine Burchell

• Approved transfers for school nurses to be reassigned to the central office (to be assigned to school)  Kevin Byrd and Tamisha Key

• Employment recommendations for Hayden Bradford, Collin Bradford, Keith Wright, Lane Hampton, Lisa Witherspoon, Alice Anne Glasgow,  Brandi Bomar, Christine Craig, Kelly Spangler and Jamie Dutton.

The board will also interview applicants for the board position that Monty Vest will be vacating at the end of May. The interviews are planned for June 4.

Dr. Wilson along with the other board members thanked Vest for her service to the school system and presented her with a  plaque in appreciation.