Ad Spot

Hartselle BOE to receive AASB President’s Award

Fifty-three school boards from across the state, including the Hartselle Board of Education, will receive the seventh annual AASB President’s Award at the Alabama Association of School Boards district meetings Aug. 16-Sept. 13 in nine geographical regions.

School boards in Athens, Cullman, Florence, Hartselle, Muscle Shoals, Russellville, Colbert County and Lauderdale County will receive their awards at the District 8 meeting Sept. 4 at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Decatur.

“The AASB President’s Award is presented to boards that have had at least 60 percent of their members attend three or more School Board Member Academy courses in the 2011-12 academy year,” said AASB President Steve Foster. The academy year ended June 30.

“This award inspires school boards to take seriously their roles as education leaders, community representatives and advocates of student achievement,” Foster said. “AASB has always striven to provide school boards meaningful training and educational opportunities to strengthen their leadership and boardsmanship skills. To benefit from that training, boards must exhibit a level of commitment to learning all they can about education issues and effective governance.”