Ad Spot

Priceville Elementary tapped for state honor

Priceville Elementary School has been selected by the Council for Leaders in Alabama Schools as a 2012 CLAS Banner School.

The honor is extended to schools that demonstrate outstanding programs and service to students. Ten schools were chosen to receive the award.

Principal Dr. Anne Knowlton plans to attend an awards luncheon in Montgomery April 24 to accept the award.

“We’re excited about this,” Knowlton said, “and we’re glad to see our teachers and students recognized for what they do every day.”

Superintendent Bill Hopkins nominated the school and Knowlton submitted the application that was judged by a committee of distinguished school leaders.

Priceville Elementary mission is to educate students, both academically and socially, instilling positive life skills that will enable them to become responsible students and adults.

The school is one of 678 Leader in Me schools in the world. The faculty is trained in Stephen Covey’s “7 Habits of Highly Effective People” and incorporates these life skills into daily instruction. Student is taught that they possess leadership skills and are given opportunities to lead as often as possible.

They participate in various leadership roles within the school. Some serve as greeters to welcome fellow classmates to school each morning. Student Ambassadors are charged with welcoming visiting guests and speaking during special events.

A Principal Pal’s Committee was formed for students to serve as advisors to the principal and assistant principal. They meet periodically through the school year to offer suggestions for school improvement.

The school also offers 45 different clubs for students to join and participate in during the year. Students choose a club at the beginning of each school year and attend once a month, culminating in a service project.

The Council for Leaders in Alabama was founded in 1969 by a small group of school leaders to provide targeted professional development and support for Alabama’s pubic school administrators.