Ad Spot

School board earns honors

Hartselle’s School Board was one of 11 honored recently by the Alabama Association of School Boards District 8 meeting Aug. 30 at the Decatur Holiday Inn Hotel in Decatur.
Hartselle’s board received an AASB’s President’s Award. Also earning awards were boards in  Cullman, Decatur, Florence, Muscle Shoals, Russellville, Colbert County, Lauderdale County, Lawrence County, Limestone County and Morgan County.
The awards were given this year to 54 school boards across the state during AASB district meetings Aug. 23-Sept. 16 in nine geographical regions.
The award is presented annually at fall district meetings to school boards that have had at least 60 percent of their members attend three or more AASB School Board Member Academy courses in the 2009-10 academy year that ended June 30.