Ad Spot

Primary finish line nearing

Voters will head to the polls June 1 to cast their ballots to choose their party’s nominees in an array of state and county races.
Polls will be open 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Voters are required to show identification – driver’s license, employee identification, student ID, passport, gun license, birth certificate, among others – before casting their ballot.
On the ballot are:
• Hartselle Mayor Dwight Tankersley and cardiac technologists Ed Henry are seeking the Republican nomination for the District Nine seat in the state House of Representatives. On the Democratic side, Kathy White Goodwin, director of marketing and community programs at Hartselle Medical Center, faces Cullman attorney Thomas Drake. They are vying to replace Rep. Ronald Grantland, D-Hartselle, who opted not to seek reelection.
• Four Republicans – all of whom are current elected office holders – are running for chairman of the Morgan County Commission. Current chairman John Glasscock faces Revenue Commissioner Amanda Scott, fellow County Commissioner Don Stisher and Somerville Mayor Ray Long are all running to lead the commission. The winner will face Democrat Clay New, who has no primary opposition.
• Incumbent Ken Livingston faces Ronnie Shipley, Derek Sparkman and Randy Vest in the Republican primary for the County Commission District Two seat. In District One, incumbent Jeff Clark, a Republican, faces no opposition in the primary, nor does his opponent, Democrat Darrell Allen.
• Sheriff Greg Bartlett faces Republican opposition from Ana Woodard Franklin and Noel Mayfield. The winner will face Democrat Tom Little in November. Little has no opposition in the primary.
• Incumbent Bob Burrell is facing Scott Anderson in the race for Morgan County District Attorney. There is no Democrat in the race.
• Three Republicans and three Democrats are vying to replace Coroner Russ Beard, who’s not seeking reelection. Beard’s brother, Mac Beard, faces Jeff Chunn and Michael Hopper in the Republican primary. Lavonne Collier, Kenneth Raycroft and Brent Gailey are facing off in the Democratic primary.
• Two Republicans are seeking the top job with the Morgan County Board of Education. Incumbent Bob Balch faces Bill Hopkins in the GOP primary. Democratic candidate Guy Bowling faces no opposition in the Democratic primary.
• Paul Holmes, Christina Holmes McLemore and Dora Sanders Woodard, the incumbent, all Republicans, meet in the primary for the District Four seat on the Morgan County School Board. District Four includes the Eva area. The winner faces former County Commissioner Stacy Lee George in November’s general election.
• District seven, which includes Lacey’s Spring, has four Republican candidates. Incumbent Betty Hackett faces challengers Kerrick Whisenant, Joseph Praise and Jeff McLemore. No Democrats are seeking the office.
In addition to the county offices, there are an array of statewide offices on the ballot as well.
• On the national front, incumbent Parker Griffith, a Democrat turned Republican, faces Morgan County Commissioner Mo Brooks and Madison businessman Les Phillip for the Fifth District Congressional seat. The district includes a portion of Morgan County. On the Democrat side, Taze Shepard, Steve Raby, David Maker and Mitchell Howie are seeking the spot. Sherpard is the son of Hartselle native and former US Senator John Sparkman.
Voters will also be choosing nominees for governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, seats on the State Supreme Court, Court of Civil Appeals, Court of Criminal Appeals, Secretary of State, State Treasurer, State Auditor, Commissioner of Agriculture and Industry, Public Service Commission and State Board of Education. There are also Congressional seats up for election.
Runoff elections will be held July 13, with voter registration deadline at July 2. The general election will be held Nov. 2, with an Oct. 22 voter registration deadline.

Republican Sample Ballot
Democratic Sample Ballot