Ad Spot

Council taps three for board posts

By Staff
Leada Gore, Hartselle Enquirer
Hartselle's Utility Board and School Board have new members.
The City Council approved the appointment of two new HU board members and one new school board member.
Named to the HU board were Garlin Cheatham and Terry Phillips. Cheatham was approved on a 3-2 vote, with council members Bill Drake and Bill Smelser voting against the appointment. Phillips was unanimously appointed and becomes the first woman named to HU's board.
Smelser said he hopes the two new members will continue the progress made between HU and the council.
"The attitudes, cooperation and open communication we've experienced with HU has been encouraging," Smelser said. "I would hope this would continue with these new appointments."
Cheatham and Phillips will replace Claude Morris and Buzz Howell, both of whom did not seek reappointment.
For the school board position, the council opted for Jennifer Sittason over four other candidates. Sittason is a graduate of Hartselle High School and has a master's degree in counseling. She will take over the post vacated by Ronnie Abercrombie who resigned last month.