Ad Spot

Politics move to high gear

By Staff
Candidates hit the campaign trail as race for future mayor, council representatives heads towards Aug. 24 election day
Leada DeVaney, Hartselle Enquirer
Three men are seeking Hartselle's top job, and a full slate of candidates are vying for city council following the close of qualifying last week.
Qualifying for municipal election closed July 20. The election will be held Aug. 24.
Mayor Clif Knight, a retired newspaper editor, is seeking reelection for his second term. He faces opposition from Dwight Tankersley, former owner of T&T Auto, and Larry Smith.
The man Knight defeated four years ago, Sammy Wiley, is seeking the place five seat on the city council. He's running against Don Hall, the council's only two time incumbent. Wiley served as mayor from 1992-96, narrowly losing reelection bids in 1996 and 2000.
Other candidates on ballot in Hartselle include:
In Falkville, three people are seeking the mayor's position. Incumbent Roy Coley faces Bruce Hart and Jeff Thrasher. The only other contested race in the city is for place three on the city council, where incumbent Matt Stiles faces Bennie Weaver. No other races in the city are contested. Incumbents Jimmie Walker, Bonnie Thompson, David Edmondson and Robert "Rob" Wilson are all running unopposed.
There's only one contested seat in Priceville. Incumbent Wayne Dunkin and Sandra Clark Scott are both seeking the place four seat on the city council. Incumbents John Oakles, Sammy Heflin, Tommy Perry and Tim Crow, and Mayor Melvin Duran, are running unopposed.
Ray Long is running for mayor of Somerville and incumbents Opal Mooneyham and Rodger McClure are seeking reelection to the city council. Mooneyham is seeking reelection to the place one seat and McClure to the place four seat. Both are running unopposed.
Also seeking spots on the Somerville City Council are: place two, Bobby Jackson and Chris Dillard; place three, Darren Tucker; and place five, Jackie Teague.