Ad Spot

Hartselle finishes second at Huntsville Invitational

By Staff
Bradley Central (Tenn.) wins tournament; Tigers finish ahead of Huntsville and Scottsboro
Staff Reports, Hartselle Enquirer
HUNTSVILLE – It could be a special kind of season of Keith Corder and his Hartselle Tigers wrestling team.
It's early in the wrestling season, but Hartselle finished second at the Huntsville Invitational last Thursday and Friday, falling only to Bradley Central (Tenn.).
Hartselle beat the likes of Huntsville and Scottsboro, among others.
"We finished above some of the state competition from last season," Corder said. "That makes me feel good.
"I'm pretty proud of my team. It was a tough tournament, and my guys wrestled hard."
Hartselle finished with 122 points, two better than Huntsville and 10 better than Scottsboro.
Yet, Huntsville could have easily taken second place had it not been for Hartselle's Travis Lightle. Hartselle trailed by three points heading into what was the final match and final chance for the Tigers to overtake Huntsville for second place. Lightle either needed a major decision or pin for his Tigers to vault over Huntsville, and he did just that.
The pin gave Lightle third place and Hartselle the points it needed to get second in the tournament.
Corey Farmer was the highest Tiger to place, as he fell in the finals of the 140 pound class to finish second. Dennis Smith (145), Kurt Hamilton (160), Ben Eubanks (171) and Lightle (215) all placed third, while Caleb Blanton (119) and Luke Mize (135) both finished fourth.
Corder was able to take only 12 wrestlers to the event. Adam Faulk, Hunter Brasher and Ryder Brasher are all hurt.
Hartselle's next match will be here tonight in the Pettey Center beginning at 6 p.m.
Junior Varsity wrestling results…
At the Huntsville Invitational, four Tigers placed first in their weight class.
Jake Metz, David Ford, Justin Ogle and Jacob Watkins all won first place.
Matt Zartuche and Dallas Kalber both finished second, while Lee McCravy and Andrew Bradford placed third.
At Bob Jones earlier this season Metz, Blake Sumerel, Seth Russell, Barrett Eubanks, Ford, Zartuche, Watkins and Bradford all got wins by way of pin. Ogle also won a match.