Ad Spot

Danville ends season with loss to Lauderdale

By Staff
Roy Jones, Sports Correspondent
DANVILLE – The Danville Hawks entertained Lauderdale County last Friday night, but it was the Tigers doing most of the entertaining.
Lauderdale County upset Danville 76-59 in a Class 3A, Sub-state contest, ending the Hawks' season.
Brett Sinyard and Josh McKessick combined to equal Danville's point total. Sinyard finished the night with a game-high 32 points and McKessick had 27.
Danville produced a balanced scoring attack with Matt Young leading the way.
The Hawks trailed 14-10 at the end of the first quarter and allowed Lauderdale County a 10-point lead at halftime. The Tigers led 53-36 heading into the final stanza.
For Danville, Cody Camper had 14 points, Patrick Pinchon had 13, Nate Orr finished with 10 points, D.J. Bridges had three and Brandon Turrentine had two.
Hartselle Youth Wrestling back on the mat
The Hartselle Youth Wrestling program is back in action, as the squad will compete in six tournaments from February 7 through March 14.
The team consists of 27 wrestlers, a little small, according to head coach Kenneth Romager.
Romager is assisted by Vu Pham, David Metz and Danny McCravy.
Several members of the Hartselle High wrestling team who once came through the HYW program have returned to help the team this season.
"We are thankful for the help we receive from the high school and the elementary schools to allow us to run this program," Romager said.
Friday and Saturday, the team competes in the Madison Academy Tournament.
Results from earlier matches and tournaments…
Hartselle vs. Bob Jones
Class I: First place – James Chalfant, Dallas Kalber, Ethan Hamilton and Andrew Bradford. Second place – Andrew Durham and Will Chappell. Third place – Jake Metz and Justin Ogle. Fourth place – David Ford.
Class III: Second place – Hayden Dye. Third place – Jackson Reeves, Wesley Smith, Austin Wofford.
Class IV: Second place – Ashton Quattlebaum and Chance Morris. Fourth place – Matt Pham.
Brad Posey Memorial Tournament
Class I: First place – Dallas Kalber and Andrew Bradford. Second place – Andrew Durham, James Chalfant and Matt Zartuche. Third place – Jake Metz. Fourth place – Ethan Hamilton.
Class III: Second place – Austin Wofford and Jackson Reeves.
Class IV: Second place – Chance Morris. Fourth place – Matt Pham and Ashton Quattlebaum.
Also winning matches were Will Chappell, Justin Ogle, Alan Durham, Hayden Dye, Berek Burchel and Jacob Watson.